School Board Members

  • 2020-2022 School Board Members are: Jody Day - President (Place 7), Bennie Norris - Vice President (Place 5), Tim Turner - Secretary (Place 4), Justin Smith, Asst. Secretary (Place 2), Tim Bower (Place 6), Kelly Chambliss (Place 1) and Michael Potter (Place 3) 

    About the Board of Trustees 

    The Board of Trustees shall consisit of seven members elected to serve, without compensation, for overlapping terms of four years each. Elections are conducted in November on the November uniform election date. Four trustee positions will be up for election on November 8, 2022. Eligible residents, residing within district boundaries, considering running for school board can access a free online training course through the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) which explains the roles and responsibilities of the position.


    Terms and Election Schedule

    Board members shall be elected for four-year terms, with elections conducted biennially, as follows:

         The election for places 1, 2, 4, and 5 shall be held in 2022, 2026 and in four-year intervals therealfter. 

         The election for places 3, 6, and 7 shall be held in 2024, 2028 and in four-year intervals thereafter. 

    Method of Voting

    To be elected, a candidate must receive more votes that any other candidate for the place. 

    Application Process

    Candidate filing period to file application for place on the ballot is the 30th day before the filing deadline. The filing deadline for a general election is 5 p.m. on the 78th day before election day. Application forms can be picked up at the Union Grove ISD Administration office, 11220 Union Grove Rd., Gladewater, TX 75647. They can also be accessed with the attached links.

    Candidate's Guide to Primary and General Elections

    The Election Code designates the Secretary of State as the chief election officer of the State of Texas. In order to provide information n the electoral process to all Texans, his office has prepared this guide in the expectation that increased information will result in increased participation. 

    Click here to access information:


    Policy BBA(LEGAL) (

    Important Election Dates:

    Deadline to Post Notice of Candidate Filing Deadline: Thursday, June 23, 2022

    First day to file for place on the ballot: July 25, 2022

    Last day to file for place on the ballot: August 22, 2022 at 5:00 p.m. 

     Last day to Register to Vote: Monday, October 11, 2022

    First day of Early Voting by personal appearance: Tuesday, October 24, 2022

    Last Day to Apply for a Ballot by Mail (Received, not Postmarked): Friday, October 28, 2022

    Last day of Early Voting by personal appearance: Friday, November 4, 2022

    Election Date: Tuesday, November 8, 2022


    Contact Information: 

    Terri Woodfin (email:

    Administrative Assistant to Superintendent/Board

    Union Grove ISD

    Phone: (903) 845-5509

    Fax: (903) 845-6178